Summary#
Montréal city council unanimously adopted a borrowing bylaw for phase two of the avenue des Pins infrastructure and street redesign project. The bylaw authorizes the City to borrow up to $98,000,000 for the work; it is subject to approval by Quebec’s Minister of Municipal Affairs and takes effect when published. City staff say the project aims to improve safety and access, among other goals.
- The money may fund underground infrastructure work, street redesign, and related professional services on avenue des Pins, avenue du Docteur-Penfield, and rue University.
- Work includes replacing water and sewer pipes and building connections, and redesigning streets, sidewalks, signals, lighting, and public spaces.
- The loan and any refinancing must have a total term of no more than 20 years.
- Costs for assets owned by utilities and other asset owners are to be paid by those owners. Costs within agglomeration responsibilities will use separate borrowing bylaws.
What it means for you#
- Residents and road users: The bylaw provides borrowing authority for the listed work, but does not itself set construction dates or traffic arrangements. City staff’s planned sequence includes work on lot C starting in spring 2027.
- The City: May borrow up to $98 million for eligible phase-two costs. This is borrowing authority, not a grant or a guarantee that the full amount will be spent.
- Property owners and utilities: Owners of project assets, such as water, gas, or electricity infrastructure, are to cover costs related to their assets.
- Taxpayers: The bylaw does not state how the City’s borrowing will be repaid or how payments will be allocated. It does not itself change a tax rate.
Money#
The bylaw authorizes up to $98,000,000 in borrowing; no estimate of yearly repayment costs is provided.
- The borrowing is for capital costs, including street and underground infrastructure work and related professional services.
- The total term of the borrowing and any refinancing cannot exceed 20 years.
- City staff say the expenses will not receive a government grant.
- Asset owners cover costs for their assets; agglomeration-responsibility costs are to be financed separately.
What is unclear#
- Whether the minister has approved the bylaw and whether it has been published: No publicly available information.
- The interest rate, annual debt payments, and exact repayment method or payer allocation are not provided in the materials.
- The amount allocated to each work lot, and whether the full $98 million will be needed, are not stated.
- The detailed design, construction impacts, and schedule for all lots are not given.
Case for#
- City staff say the project is intended to improve safety and comfort for people walking and cycling, support local and regional travel, and maintain access for emergency services and public transit.
- The work combines street redesign with underground repairs, including replacement of water and sewer pipes and building service connections.
- City staff say the borrowing is needed to fund the next project steps. Without it, they expect a professional-services contract for lot C and the planned start of that lot’s construction to be delayed.
Case against#
- One concern is that the bylaw authorizes substantial borrowing, but the materials do not show the interest cost or annual repayment burden.
- The project will not receive a government grant, according to city staff, so the City’s share must be financed without that source of funding.
- The $98 million covers only the City’s local responsibilities; the total cost across asset owners and separate agglomeration borrowing is not stated.