Appropriations Act authorizes 2026-27 spending

Summary#

The Appropriations Act 2026-2027 is a new annual spending-authorization law; it does not amend another Act. Its stated purpose is to cover public-service expenses not otherwise provided for. The first-reading text would allow up to $14.544 billion to be paid from New Brunswick’s Consolidated Fund between April 1, 2026, and March 31, 2027, subject to the votes in the Main Estimates and Capital Estimates. It is not yet law, and passage is uncertain.

  • It authorizes up to $13.041 billion for the ordinary and special operating agency accounts, divided among departments and other listed areas.
  • It authorizes up to $1.351 billion for capital spending, including $1.101 billion for Transportation and Infrastructure.
  • It authorizes up to $152.324 million in loans and advances to four listed departments or agencies.
  • The money may be used only in accordance with the votes in the estimates. The bill does not require the full authorized amounts to be spent.

What it means for you#

  • Government departments and agencies: The bill would give them authority to draw public money for the listed purposes and amounts, subject to the estimates’ votes. It does not itself specify particular projects or service levels.
  • Taxpayers and the public: The bill authorizes spending from the Consolidated Fund, but does not create a new tax or fee. It does not guarantee that the authorized money will be spent or that any particular service will change.
  • Borrowers or recipients of advances: The bill sets aside authority for loans and advances to Agriculture, Aquaculture and Fisheries; the New Brunswick Housing Corporation; Opportunities New Brunswick; and Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour. It does not name the recipients or set loan terms.

Money#

The bill authorizes up to $14.544 billion in total payments from the Consolidated Fund for the 2026–2027 fiscal year; this is spending authority, not a requirement to spend that amount.

  • The total includes $13.041 billion for ordinary and special operating agency accounts, $1.351 billion for capital, and $152.324 million for loans and advances.
  • No separate estimate of the bill’s administrative or implementation costs is given.
  • The bill does not state whether or when loans and advances will be repaid.

What is unclear#

  • The supplied material contains the first-reading bill text, but no amended version. It does not establish whether any proposed amendments were adopted.
  • The estimates that the bill relies on are not included here, so the specific activities or projects covered by each department’s vote cannot be checked.
  • The bill does not set out how departments decide which expenses to pay, or what reporting or oversight applies; those details may be in other materials or laws.
  • The recipients, terms, and repayment conditions for the loans and advances are not stated.
  • Whether the full amounts will be spent is unknown.

Case for#

  • The bill appears intended to give government legal authority to pay for public services and other approved expenses during the fiscal year.
  • A total limit and department-level votes put boundaries on the spending authority.
  • Separating capital spending and loans and advances from operating amounts makes those categories visible in the authorization.

Case against#

  • The bill authorizes a very large total, but the text alone does not show what specific services, projects, or outcomes the money will support.
  • The bill does not require the authorized amounts to be spent, so the listed totals do not show actual spending.
  • The bill itself does not explain the terms or recipients of the loans and advances, making their public benefit and repayment unclear.