Bank Deposit Insurance Ceiling to 750K

Summary#

H.R. 10821 would amend the Federal Deposit Insurance Act; it is not law and has been referred to the House Financial Services Committee. It would raise the standard maximum deposit insurance amount from $250,000 to $750,000 and provide for annual inflation adjustments; the bill’s stated aim also includes a study of what amount is appropriate.

  • The Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC) would have to apply the new $750,000 amount 180 days after enactment.
  • Starting January 1 of the year after enactment, the FDIC would have to adjust the amount each year by the percentage increase in the Consumer Price Index, if any, and round it down to the nearest $10,000.
  • The FDIC and National Credit Union Administration (NCUA) would have to study the appropriate amount and report to Congress within one year. The report must consider institution assets, deposit balances, insured and uninsured deposits, and effects on the Deposit Insurance Fund.
  • The report must also describe needed tools, resources, benefits, and operational or administrative protocols. The bill does not make the new amount depend on the study’s findings.

What it means for you#

  • People with deposits covered by this FDIA limit: The maximum amount set by the bill would rise to $750,000, with later inflation adjustments. The bill does not change other coverage rules in the supplied text.
  • Credit-union members: The NCUA would take part in the study, but the bill amends the Federal Deposit Insurance Act, not a credit-union insurance law. Whether or how the change would affect credit-union coverage is unclear.
  • Banks and other institutions: The bill does not create a new application or review process for depositors or institutions. It also does not specify how institutions would implement the higher limit.
  • FDIC and NCUA: Both agencies would have to conduct the study and submit the report. The FDIC would also have to make the annual inflation adjustment.

Money#

No cost estimate is provided in the available material.

  • The agencies must conduct research and analysis and prepare a report, but the bill provides no funding or staffing estimate.
  • The agencies must consider effects on the Deposit Insurance Fund, but the bill gives no estimate of those effects.

What is unclear#

  • The full Federal Deposit Insurance Act was not supplied, so the bill’s effects alongside current coverage rules could not be verified. The bill text identifies $250,000 as the existing amount.
  • The bill does not explain how the change relates to credit-union insurance, despite requiring the NCUA to join the study.
  • The annual adjustment begins on January 1 of the year after enactment, while the amendments take effect 180 days after enactment. The text does not explain how to handle a January 1 adjustment that comes before that 180-day date.
  • The bill does not say whether Congress or either agency must act on the study’s recommended amount.
  • The bill does not specify implementation protocols; it requires the agencies to discuss needed protocols in the report.

Case for#

  • A higher limit could protect more deposits under the FDIA limit from losses if an insured institution fails.
  • Annual increases tied to consumer-price inflation could keep the limit from losing purchasing power when prices rise.
  • The joint study could give Congress information about deposit balances, uninsured deposits, implementation needs, and effects on the Deposit Insurance Fund.

Case against#

  • The $750,000 increase would take effect before the agencies’ report is due. The bill does not make the increase depend on what the study finds.
  • Higher coverage could affect the Deposit Insurance Fund, but the bill does not estimate the size of that effect or set a limit based on the fund’s condition.
  • The bill leaves implementation details to be identified in a later report and does not require those protocols to be in place before the higher limit starts.