Plan to create teacher residency program

Summary#

S-4862, “Establishes Teacher Residency Program,” would add a new teacher-training program to New Jersey law; it does not change an existing program in the supplied text. Its stated goal is to provide stipends, education and field experience toward a New Jersey certificate of eligibility with advanced standing. The bill is introduced and is not law; whether it will pass is uncertain.

  • The Commissioner of Education, working with the Secretary of Higher Education, must establish the program. Public schools and eligible colleges would apply together; selected pairs would agree with the Department of Education to provide training and field experience.
  • The program has three stages for qualifying New Jersey high school seniors and public-school staff without a required teaching certificate who have at least 60 college credits or an associate degree.
  • Participants must meet academic, residency and other standards. Completing the stages requires college credits, field experience and assessments; the final stage also requires a bachelor’s degree and an educator preparation program.
  • The bill sets stipends of $2,000 in stage one, $10,000 in stage two and $15,000 in stage three. Extra awards for study leading to an endorsement in a teacher-shortage subject are allowed, but not required.
  • Participants must agree to work as teaching staff in New Jersey for four years after completing the program. A participant unable to obtain such work may ask the Department of Education for a waiver.

What it means for you#

  • High school students entering grade 12: You could apply if you are a New Jersey resident, have at least a 3.0 GPA and pass a background check. Stage one requires at least 15 college credits, a literature review and 200 hours of field experience.
  • Public-school staff without a required teaching certificate: You could apply at stage two if you are a New Jersey resident, have at least 60 college credits or an associate degree, and meet the GPA requirement. Stage two requires 90 cumulative college credits, at least 720 field-experience hours and a subject-matter test.
  • Participants continuing to stage three: You must earn 120 cumulative college credits, complete at least 1,000 field-experience hours, finish an approved educator preparation program and bachelor’s degree, and pass a performance-based assessment. A Teacher Resident II credential makes you eligible for a certificate only if you also meet general state certification requirements; it does not itself guarantee that certificate.
  • Participating schools and colleges: A public school and an accredited college with an approved educator preparation program must apply jointly. They must provide the agreed education and field experience. Field experience may include assisting with school operations and instruction.
  • Participants after completion: You must maintain New Jersey residency while in the program and meet performance standards. The four-year in-state employment agreement applies after completion. The bill does not specify repayment of stipends if someone does not meet that commitment.

Money#

The bill sets stipend amounts but gives no estimate of total public cost or funding source.

  • Full stage-two and stage-three stipends require full-time study at the partner college and completion of all required field-experience hours.
  • The Commissioner of Education and Secretary of Higher Education may provide extra stipends for study leading to an endorsement in a subject area the Commissioner identifies as having a teacher shortage.
  • The bill assigns program and rulemaking duties but does not state how many staff they require or what administration will cost.

What is unclear#

  • The bill does not set the program’s size, number of participating school-college pairs, selection criteria for those pairs, or participant limits.
  • It leaves application details, stipend distribution, performance standards and waiver guidelines to officials.
  • It does not explain what happens if a participant breaks the four-year work agreement, or how the waiver decision is made.
  • It does not state how the program will be funded or whether participants must pay tuition or other costs.
  • The supplied materials do not include current New Jersey education law, so it is not possible to verify how the program’s credentials and requirements would interact with existing rules. The bill would take effect on the first day of the 13th month after enactment.

Case for#

  • The bill appears intended to create a supported route into teaching for both high school students and public-school staff already earning college credits.
  • Stipends could help participants meet the costs of study and training, while field experience links coursework to school work.
  • A four-year in-state work commitment could connect publicly funded training with service in New Jersey schools.
  • Extra stipends may be offered for study in subject areas the Commissioner identifies as having teacher shortages.

Case against#

  • The program could require substantial public funding, but the bill sets no overall budget, participant limit or funding source.
  • The field-experience requirements are extensive: at least 200 hours in stage one, 720 in stage two and 1,000 in stage three. The bill does not explain how participants would fit these hours around study or other responsibilities.
  • The four-year employment commitment may limit participants’ choices after completing the program. The bill provides a possible waiver if a participant cannot obtain a job, but not the decision rules.
  • The bill leaves important operating details to officials, including participant selection, standards and stipend distribution; it does not set timelines or an appeal process.