Summary#
Montréal city council unanimously set the city’s position in favour of extending its purchasing agreement with the Centre d’acquisitions gouvernementales (CAG) for 12 months and adding $10 million to its spending limit. The proposed extension would run to March 31, 2027, and raise the total contract amount from $20.5 million to $30.5 million, taxes included. The goal, according to city staff, is to keep replacing outdated computer equipment and meet the city’s needs. The agglomeration council makes the final decision at a later meeting.
- The agreement covers desktop and portable computers, servers, electronic tablets and accessories.
- If the extension is approved, the city’s technology director would be authorized to sign related documents for the city.
- Purchases would be made as needs arise, with costs charged to boroughs, corporate services and linked municipalities.
What it means for you#
- City staff and municipal units: The agreement would let them continue ordering equipment through the CAG purchasing group. City staff say the city replaces about 4,000 workstations a year.
- Residents: The decision does not directly change residents’ rights, services, taxes or fees. City staff say updated equipment is intended to support municipal services, but the materials do not establish a specific service improvement.
- Taxpayers: The cost would be assigned to the budgets of the units that need the equipment; the exact split is not yet known.
Money#
The proposed additional spending limit is $10 million, taxes included; the new total contract limit would be $30.5 million, taxes included.
- The city says purchases will happen as needs arise, not necessarily for the full authorized amount.
- The decision assigns spending to borough, corporate-service and linked-municipality budgets. Staff say the specific allocation between city and agglomeration responsibilities will be assessed when purchases are made.
What is unclear#
- The final agglomeration-council decision is not in these materials.
- The supplier or suppliers, number of bids and bidding results are not stated.
- The materials do not say how much of the $10 million will be spent, or how costs will be divided among the units and municipalities.
Case for#
- City staff say the agreement supports regular replacement of outdated equipment and responds to current staffing and project needs.
- Staff say group purchasing offers discounted prices, a range of equipment choices and a consistent computer fleet that is easier to support.
Case against#
- The materials do not provide bid results or price comparisons, so readers cannot assess whether this extension is the best available purchasing option.
- The spending limit rises by $10 million, but the expected purchases and the share charged to each budget are not specified.