City streamlines car-share permit rules

Summary#

Montréal city council unanimously adopted changes to the Règlement relatif au stationnement des véhicules en libre-service (rules for parking shared vehicles) and related changes to the 2026 city tariffs bylaw. The goal, according to city staff, is to update permit administration and make it easier for car-sharing providers to pay for permits.

  • The rules allow the responsible city authority to delegate some or all permit and decal work to the Agence de mobilité durable (AMD), including receiving, processing, renewing, cancelling and replacing permits, and collecting fees.
  • Borough councils must inform the Service de l’urbanisme et de la mobilité when they submit requests to the executive committee to change the service area. This does not take decision-making powers away from boroughs.
  • Providers’ required reports change from four times a year to once a year. Providers may give one declaration for their vehicles instead of copies of each vehicle’s registration and insurance documents; the city may still demand those documents at any time.
  • A residents-only parking zone in Ville-Marie is renumbered from zone 50 to zone 301. The covered area does not change.
  • Providers may pay universal parking permit fees in two instalments. The rules also set consequences for late payment of the second instalment, but the available material does not describe them.

What it means for you#

  • Car-sharing providers: The AMD may handle some or all permit tasks. Providers have fewer routine reporting and document-submission requirements, and may split permit payments.
  • People using shared cars: The changes do not expand or reduce the service area. The Ville-Marie zone-number update does not change the territory. The existing permit system allows approved vehicles to park in residents-only zones and, downtown, at metered spaces.
  • Residents and other drivers: The decision does not otherwise change where shared cars may park or create a new service for residents.

Money#

No cost estimate is given in the available material.

  • The decision changes when providers may pay permit fees, not the fee amounts; the amounts are not provided here.
  • City staff say controls will remain to limit the city’s financial risk, but the material gives no figures for costs, revenues or risks.

What is unclear#

  • The adopted bylaw texts are not included, so the exact payment deadlines, late-payment consequences and deadline for the annual report cannot be verified from the supplied material.
  • The decision summary does not state when the changes take effect.
  • It does not specify which permit tasks the city will delegate to the AMD, or how that delegation will be overseen.

Case for#

  • City staff say the changes bring the rules into line with permit work already handled by the AMD.
  • Fewer document submissions and reports may reduce administrative work for both providers and the city, while the city retains the power to check registration and insurance.
  • Two payments may ease providers’ cash-flow pressures, according to city staff.

Case against#

  • A possible trade-off is that reports submitted once a year may give the city less frequent information for monitoring the service.
  • The decision allows permit duties to be delegated but the available material does not explain how the city will oversee that work.
  • The city says it will retain controls over late payments, but the details are not available here, making it hard to assess the financial safeguards.