Georgina’s Law

Summary#

Bill S-242, An Act respecting national action for the prevention of intimate partner violence, would create a new Act called Georgina’s Law; it does not amend an existing Act. Its stated goal is to continue national action to prevent and address intimate partner violence. The supplied text is proposed legislation, not law in force; it does not state whether the bill has passed.

  • The Minister for Women and Gender Equality must continue to lead national action on intimate partner violence.
  • The Minister must engage annually with other federal ministers and provincial ministers responsible for the status of women, and regularly with Indigenous partners, victims and survivors, and stakeholders. These discussions must address current programs and strategies, partnerships, costs, and constitutional, legal or jurisdictional issues.
  • Those engagements must begin within one year after royal assent.
  • The Minister must report to Parliament within two years after royal assent and every two years after that, and publish each report within 30 days after it has been tabled in both Houses.

What it means for you#

  • People affected by intimate partner violence: The bill does not directly create a new service, benefit, right or protection for individuals. It requires national leadership, engagement and reporting.
  • Ministers and governments: The federal minister would have to lead the work and hold the specified engagements. The bill does not require provincial or other federal ministers to take particular actions or adopt any program.
  • Indigenous partners, victims, survivors and stakeholders: The minister must engage with these groups regularly, but the bill does not set out how they would be selected or involved.
  • Taxpayers and the public: The bill would require reports to Parliament and online publication. It does not set a specific program, funding amount or service-delivery plan.

Money#

No publicly available information on the bill’s estimated costs.

  • The bill requires staff time for engagement, reporting and publication, but gives no estimate of those costs or the number of staff needed.
  • It does not set out an appropriation, tax, fee, fine or benefit.

What is unclear#

  • The bill does not define “intimate partner violence.” It defines an “intimate partner” to include a current or former spouse, common-law partner or dating partner.
  • It does not explain what existing national action must continue or which programs and strategies are covered.
  • It does not set targets or specify what the minister must do beyond leading the action, holding engagements and reporting progress.
  • It does not specify how often “regular” engagement must happen, who counts as a stakeholder, or how Indigenous partners, victims and survivors would be involved.
  • The supplied text does not describe current programs or law, so their relationship to the proposed Act cannot be verified. It also gives no separate general start date; the stated deadlines run from royal assent.

Case for#

  • A possible argument for the bill is that regular discussion among governments and affected groups could help identify gaps in existing programs and strategies.
  • The required discussions would cover partnerships, costs and legal or jurisdictional issues, which could help inform coordinated action.
  • Reports every two years, made public, could give Parliament and the public a recurring account of progress.

Case against#

  • The bill requires leadership and discussion but does not require particular services, funding, targets or results. Its practical effect would depend on what action follows.
  • The bill does not define what counts as progress, so the reports may not show whether prevention or support has improved.
  • It is unclear what “continue” means in relation to existing action, and the bill does not set out how the minister should address gaps found through engagement.
Loading versions…Read this official publication

Summary matches the latest captured text

Summary version: As passed by the Senate · 2026-02-24

Last source check:

Read the latest official text

How the text changed

Loading versions…